September 19, 2024, 11:03:55 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: WILD BOAR USA....FOR ALL YOUR HOG HUNTING NEEDS

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Recipes and Cooking Tips  (Read 1157 times)
hwkdrvr04
Hog Dog Pup

View Profile
« on: March 22, 2010, 06:42:40 pm »

Hey!  I was just wondering if anyone has some recipes for hog they'd like to share.  I am somewhat new to hog hunting and would like some ideas on how to fix it.  I eat any cuts of meat, so whatever you got send it my way please.

Also, I am a soldier in the Army and we have some sister companies coming back from deployments in the next few months.  We were thinking about doing a welcome home BBQ at some point and putting a few wild hogs on the menu.  Any thoughts on this?  What's the best way to grill big portions?  Quarters or halves?  Any good recipes?  Or would this just be more of a pain in the butt then what's it worth and we'd do better to just get some regular pigs? 

Thanks for the suggestions!
dabutcher
Boar Slayer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 07:20:13 pm »

i like the following:
take a slab of ribs or a half and season with fajita seasoning.
then take a mixture of soy sauce and worschester sauce (to taste) and apply liberally, let marinade for a couple hours before cooking.
then apply a thin coat of yellow mustard (to use as a binder) and then apply some brown sugar over all of that.  cook over coals and a low heat.  baste with the soy sauce/worschester sauce mix. 
slimpickins
Boar Slayer

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 07:23:04 pm »

hwkdrvr, 1st off, thank you for your service to my family and my country.
I don't think it can ever be said or shown enough.

When I do my big 4th of July BBQ, I do 10 or a dozen hind quarters.
I have injected them and let them marinade overnight, if possible.